top of page

Growing up with a Million (5) Siblings.

I grew up with 5 other goofball nerds and I am most absolutely, positively, better because of it.

Every time I begin the typical "get to know you" conversation with someone, my gargantuan amount of siblings seems to catch a lot of attention. In my perspective, I see 5 siblings as the perfect amount. It never felt like there were too many of us, but I'm sure Mom and Dad felt a little differently when they tried to wrangle us into the mini-van. Those were the days.

I have four older brothers and a younger sister, all of whom I love dearly. That's not to say we didn't struggle to get along growing up. Between shared rooms, pranks, and ghost hunting, we surely had our fair share of tiffs. I think a part of me always wanted to be included with the boys and of course the boys only wanted to play Pokemon (before it was cool) and mini-sticks hockey. I guess after 4 boys I was a pretty big deal in the Schnitzler household, and man did little Lisa want to stay the baby of the family.

When my Mom got pregnant for the sixth time she convinced me that she was growing a monkey in her tummy. That is my first memory of ever having a temper tantrum. Six months later when I went to visit her in the hospital the day Emma arrived I insisted we trade her in for a puppy. I'm sure we have all had our moments when we have wanted to trade our siblings for pets, right? Maybe it's just me. Anyway, 15 years later I formally take back what I said (although it was hilarious).

It turns out that I'm pretty happy that I have a little sister. She is into all of the things that I don't understand like contouring and VSCO, so when the apparently lame older sister needs some makeup/filter magic she's got my back. She is also a caring and cool human. Besides the clothes stealing. Who does that!?

I'm happy to say that my brothers are basically the same fun loving kids they were 10 years ago, in adult bodies. Pokemon still captivates their minds, as it should. And flashbacks of our childhoods always come back in funny ways, whether it be at Grandma and Grandpa's dinner table or in old photos Mom put away for us. I recently discovered that one year for Halloween she put a literal cheerleading pom pom on my head and said I was a "clown".

As siblings, we work as a unit. We have had each others' backs throughout some of the hardest moments of our lives, and for that I am forever grateful. I love them so much and am so proud of them, they have no idea. They know when I'm having a bad day and they know how to fix it.

My heart is so full as our family continues to grow and accomplish amazing things.

Here's to the Schnitzler clan!

bottom of page