top of page

Week 12: Soaking up the Sun

The seasons are changing over in Australia. Today I actually wore a JACKET. It is so funny to see that back home it is hitting 15 degrees and everyone is running to the beach or tanning in their back yard. Yesterday it hit 15 degrees here and people are getting their winter jackets out and turning the heat on. This past week, we actually had some really great weather. I'm not sure if it is luck or climate change but I took advantage of the rain free days.

I took the train to Westgate Park to see the infamous Pink Lake. When the water reaches a salinity level higher than sea water, a natural reaction occurs and the algae turns pink! The lake turns pink for a limited time, so I was really like to be able to visit it during my trip. It both took my breath away and reminded me of a sea of pepto-bismal, lol.

The following day I went to my first AFL (Australian Football Game). It was incredible! The Footscray Bulldogs played the Sydney Swans and the Bulldogs won! Apparently they are the underdogs, but they are my suburb, so obviously I cheer for them. Oddly enough, so do the Hemsworth brothers. Chris Hemsworth and Matt Damon rocked up to Marvel stadium that night to see the win, so I'm basically friends with Thor now.

For most people reading this who do not know what AFL is, it involves a lot of bouncing, kicking, throwing, and tackling. It is like soccer, american football, and basketball mixed together? Look it up on Youtube! It is way more fun than American football. (Sorry Dad).

When Sunday came around I was ready for some r-e-l-a-x-a-t-i-o-n. I went to Reunion Pool Club on top of the Melbourne Central Mall and chilled in the hot-tub with some new friends and drank margaritas. It was awesome!

I have been reflecting a lot on my experience here, and it has been absolutely life changing. I have learned so much from my co-workers and my friends, and also just from myself. There have been challenging times- but I have grown for the better, and I hope people back home can see that.

XO

Lisa

bottom of page