top of page

RMIT Reflections

I am back in Canada, the land of Tim Hortons and beautiful mountains. It has been quite incredible catching up with all of my loved ones. It is amazing how much life happens when you leave for a couple of months. The cherry blossoms are in full bloom and the seagulls outside my window remind me that I am home. I do miss the birds of Australia though.

As I sit down and look back at my 3 months working in the Office of Indigenous Education and Engagement I am filled with many emotions. I have an intense gratitude for every person I crossed path with on this internship. My team at the office not only showed me the ropes of the professional world, they gifted me so much insight to life itself. I am forever a changed person because of these people (you know who you are) and I miss them so much.

RMIT is a really unique university, far different than UVIC. RMIT has so many spaces for students to study, and so many events for students to meet each other. It was daunting stepping into those events by myself, but I was able to make friends with people from all around the world.

It is hard to put into words how special this experience has been. I hope that if you have the opportunity to travel, to work, or to study abroad that you do. I learned so much about myself in the past three months and I am excited to see where my next adventure takes me.

If you have been following along for the long haul, thank you. Thank you for reading and for being interested in my thoughts. I hope that these blogs stick around for a long time, so that my great-great-grand kids can see my adventures.

Until next time,

Lisa xo.

bottom of page